## DAVID CUP

The David cup is awarded to the Club junior returning the fastest time in a special junior 10 mile time trial each year which in recent times, is always held in conjunction with the Harry Nash event.

History of the trophy - George Dowse and Madeline were married in 1939, the day before war was declared. After these grim years, their first child David was born in 1946 and to celebrate this happy occasion, George presented a trophy to the Club.

1946 also saw the birth of the Club junior category and because of the need for new trophies for the under 18's, the David cup was subsequently designated for this purpose. The junior category was always well supported and although David grew up to be a competitive rider, he never managed to get his name on 'his' cup. He emigrated to Australia in 1974 and still regularly competes over there in handicap races. George passed away in June 1997, and Madeline died in 1999.

Winner	Time	Year	Winner	Time
				24:03
•				24:03
				26:00
				26.00
			•	
				25:23
			•	25:48
			•	24:57
				26:38
				26:56
				25:26
			•	25:53
			V	24:24
M.Miller	25:10	1989		26:48
G.Ambler	25:07	1990		27:02
G.Ambler	24:30	1991	C.Morgan	24:00
D.Miller	24:35	1992	S.Bell	26:36
C.Wharmby	26:14	1993	C.Miller	26:15
P.Cooper	25:22	1994	C.Miller	27:12
P.Cooper	25:27	1995	C.Miller	25:17
D.Brassington	25:22	1996	No qualifier	-
M.Unsworth	26:31	1997	A.Wearing	26:28
M.Blackwell	25:15	1998	M.Kennedy	26:10
C.Dodd	23:35	1999	M.Webb	27:29
C.Dodd	23:16	2000	M.Webb	25:09
H.Welsh	24:43	2001	M.Webb	26:48
	25:52	2002/12		-
D.Martin	26:25		I	
	-			
•	28:24			
	G.Ambler D.Miller C.Wharmby P.Cooper P.Cooper D.Brassington M.Unsworth M.Blackwell C.Dodd C.Dodd H.Welsh G.Elson	G.Spencer 26:20   R.G.Bubb 25:15   N.Shorthouse 25:42   R.J.Bradford 24:36   T.C.Cave 24:37   B.Liggins 26:04   M.R.Weston 24:15   G.Windo 24:47   R.Walford 25:41   R.Walford 25:41   R.Walford 25:41   R.Walford 24:33   I.Norman 26:08   J.C.Southall 24:41   M.Miller 25:07   G.Ambler 25:07   G.Ambler 25:07   G.Ambler 24:30   D.Miller 24:35   C.Wharmby 26:14   P.Cooper 25:22   P.Cooper 25:22   P.Cooper 25:22   M.Unsworth 26:31   M.Blackwell 25:15   C.Dodd 23:35   C.Dodd 23:35   C.Dodd 23:35   C.Dodd 23:16   H.Welsh 24:43 <td>G.Spencer 26:20 1977   R.G.Bubb 25:15 1978   N.Shorthouse 25:42 1979   R.J.Bradford 24:36 1980   T.C.Cave 24:37 1981   B.Liggins 26:04 1982   M.R.Weston 24:15 1983   G.Windo 24:47 1984   R.Walford 25:41 1985   R.Walford 24:33 1986   I.Norman 26:08 1987   J.C.Southall 24:41 1988   M.Miller 25:10 1989   G.Ambler 25:07 1990   G.Ambler 25:07 1990   G.Ambler 24:30 1991   D.Miller 24:35 1992   C.Wharmby 26:14 1993   P.Cooper 25:27 1996   M.Unsworth 26:31 1997   M.Blackwell 25:15 1998   C.Dodd 23:35 1999   C.Dodd <t< td=""><td>G.Spencer 26:20 1977 K.Lambert   R.G.Bubb 25:15 1978 N.Pilbeam   N.Shorthouse 25:42 1979 M.Ingram   R.J.Bradford 24:36 1980 M.Humphries   T.C.Cave 24:37 1981 A.Watson   B.Liggins 26:04 1982 M.Humphries   M.R.Weston 24:15 1983 M.Humphries   G.Windo 24:47 1984 J.Hardy   R.Walford 25:41 1985 D.Atkins   R.Walford 24:33 1986 D.Atkins   I.Norman 26:08 1987 D.Hughes   J.C.Southall 24:41 1988 D.Hughes   M.Miller 25:10 1989 C.Morgan   G.Ambler 24:33 1990 C.Morgan   G.Ambler 24:30 1991 C.Morgan   D.Miller 24:35 1992 S.Bell   C.Wharmby 26:14 1993 C.Miller   P.Cooper <td< td=""></td<></td></t<></td>	G.Spencer 26:20 1977   R.G.Bubb 25:15 1978   N.Shorthouse 25:42 1979   R.J.Bradford 24:36 1980   T.C.Cave 24:37 1981   B.Liggins 26:04 1982   M.R.Weston 24:15 1983   G.Windo 24:47 1984   R.Walford 25:41 1985   R.Walford 24:33 1986   I.Norman 26:08 1987   J.C.Southall 24:41 1988   M.Miller 25:10 1989   G.Ambler 25:07 1990   G.Ambler 25:07 1990   G.Ambler 24:30 1991   D.Miller 24:35 1992   C.Wharmby 26:14 1993   P.Cooper 25:27 1996   M.Unsworth 26:31 1997   M.Blackwell 25:15 1998   C.Dodd 23:35 1999   C.Dodd <t< td=""><td>G.Spencer 26:20 1977 K.Lambert   R.G.Bubb 25:15 1978 N.Pilbeam   N.Shorthouse 25:42 1979 M.Ingram   R.J.Bradford 24:36 1980 M.Humphries   T.C.Cave 24:37 1981 A.Watson   B.Liggins 26:04 1982 M.Humphries   M.R.Weston 24:15 1983 M.Humphries   G.Windo 24:47 1984 J.Hardy   R.Walford 25:41 1985 D.Atkins   R.Walford 24:33 1986 D.Atkins   I.Norman 26:08 1987 D.Hughes   J.C.Southall 24:41 1988 D.Hughes   M.Miller 25:10 1989 C.Morgan   G.Ambler 24:33 1990 C.Morgan   G.Ambler 24:30 1991 C.Morgan   D.Miller 24:35 1992 S.Bell   C.Wharmby 26:14 1993 C.Miller   P.Cooper <td< td=""></td<></td></t<>	G.Spencer 26:20 1977 K.Lambert   R.G.Bubb 25:15 1978 N.Pilbeam   N.Shorthouse 25:42 1979 M.Ingram   R.J.Bradford 24:36 1980 M.Humphries   T.C.Cave 24:37 1981 A.Watson   B.Liggins 26:04 1982 M.Humphries   M.R.Weston 24:15 1983 M.Humphries   G.Windo 24:47 1984 J.Hardy   R.Walford 25:41 1985 D.Atkins   R.Walford 24:33 1986 D.Atkins   I.Norman 26:08 1987 D.Hughes   J.C.Southall 24:41 1988 D.Hughes   M.Miller 25:10 1989 C.Morgan   G.Ambler 24:33 1990 C.Morgan   G.Ambler 24:30 1991 C.Morgan   D.Miller 24:35 1992 S.Bell   C.Wharmby 26:14 1993 C.Miller   P.Cooper <td< td=""></td<>